top of page

Canberra Brass

Canberra Brass (formerly the Hall Village Brass Band) is a long-established part of Canberra’s quality music scene. It presents highly entertaining music drawing on the flexibility in style and repertoire available to a leading contemporary brass band.

Formed in 1984 in Hall, Canberra Brass performs at many events and concerts in Canberra and surrounding districts. Over the last decade it has won contests at the State and national level.

It owes much of its success to the early musical leadership of Tom Russell, Les Alley, Stan Galloway, Les Smith and Peter Robertson, and more recently, musical directors Thomas Burge, Aaron Madden, Colin Fischer MBE, Viv Martin and Kevin Knapp. The current musical director is Veronica Boulton, formerly the long-term musical director of Marion City Band in Adelaide.

The band rehearses on Wednesday nights at Hawker College, Murranji Street, Hawker from 7-9pm.


If you are interested in joining, hiring or sponsoring the band, please send us a message via the Contact Us page.

bottom of page